MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 14 October 2014 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor David Horne (in the Chair)

Councillors

Councillor Margaret Adair
Councillor Michael Andrewes
Councillor Simon Bosher
Councillor Alicia Denny
Councillor Ben Dowling
Councillor Ken Ellcome
Councillor John Ferrett
Councillor Ken Ferrett
Councillor Margaret Foster
Councillor Colin Galloway
Councillor Paul Godier
Councillor Aiden Gray
Councillor Terry Hall
Councillor Steve Hastings
Councillor Lee Hunt
Councillor Frank Jonas
Councillor Donna Jones

Councillor Leo Madden **Councillor Hugh Mason** Councillor Robert New Councillor Stuart Potter Councillor Will Purvis Councillor Darren Sanders Councillor Eleanor Scott Councillor Phil Smith Councillor Lynne Stagg Councillor Sandra Stockdale Councillor Luke Stubbs Councillor Julie Swan Councillor Linda Symes Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Councillor Steve Wemyss **Councillor Matthew Winnington** Councillor Rob Wood

79. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from the Lord Mayor, Councillor Steven Wylie and Councillor Lee Mason, both of whom were on Council business representing the Council in Duisburg. Apologies for absence were also received from, Councillor Neill Young, Councillor David Fuller and Councillor Les Stevens. Councillor Alistair Thompson and Councillor Rob New sent apologies for lateness.

80. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24.

The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations in respect of agenda item 2.

81. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Caroline Scott

The Deputy Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Caroline Scott as an honorary alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson

74 14 October 2014

Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Caroline Scott, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Caroline Scott and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

The extraordinary meeting concluded at 2.05 pm.

.....

Deputy Lord Mayor